Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Another year is about to end. Wow. 12 months surely passed by so quickly.

For me, it’s been a mix of earthquakes and rainbows.

The year began very silent and a bit emotional but it was also a crazy, busy few months that made time go faster than expected. I took part in organizing our first Concert for a cause that became a huge success (All glory to God), I had my first Euro trip in Greece where I also attended my first international conference, I’ve also had the best, meaningful, busy and rainy summer back home.

Then, the so-called quarter life crisis hit me. I became dull, irate, negative and waking up every day feeling down with no inspiration or motivation to move on with life. I felt like I’m not doing what I’m supposed to do and I’m running out of time trying to accomplish all my goals. I decided that I’m leaving Riyadh and go on a completely different route next year. In short, I was a wreck emotionally and mentally.

Thankfully, I got past that. I woke up one day figuring out what the fuss is all about. I asked myself what I am complaining about when I have all these wonderful things around me. I killed my pessimistic self and moved on.

Goodbyes. A few people dear to me had to leave to start their new journey. Sad, but parting is inevitable sometimes and you just have to be happy that they’re leaving to achieve their dreams.

Hellos. “If someone goes, someone new comes along.” New people came into my life and for that I am more than thankful. Some of them became friends, a few beaus and some old acquaintance eventually became good friends.

The year isn’t over until I am faced with a situation that would expect me to make a choice. Sometimes you won’t really know the feeling of being sea sick if you don’t go out and sail in the sea. You might wonder what I’m talking about; some would get this, some won’t. Point is, I write no secrets just clues.

Tomorrow is a new year. A start of a journey for some, the end for others or for those walking a long path, it’s just another day. No matter what point we are in right now, this is the time to remember all the good and the bad for the past 364 days. It’s been a fun, wild ride but surely something to be thankful for. For all the blessings that we have received, for the family and friends that we still have, for the love that we still share, for the laughter and tears that we can still give. Most of all, for another chance that we get to breathe again and make a difference in this world.

Forget all the sorrow and pain of the past year and embrace all the good things that happened to us. If not for trials we are not as strong as we are now, and if not for the optimism and hope, we are not where we are now.

Welcome 2013 with a thankful heart and a vision of a blessed future. Let go and let God. Wake up each morning feeling brand new and encouraged to do something worthwhile. Do not be afraid to fail but be courageous enough to stand up and try again. Do not hesitate to fall in love for even with uncertainty, love is always beautiful. Laugh hard, cry hard. Walk with your head held high but with your feet kept in the ground. Be motivated and accept the challenges that life will offer. Dream big and believe in yourself. Never fear change for it will help you grow. Trust in the LORD and put your faith in Him; for in Him, nothing is impossible.

xx,

R.

